h1

Time to de-clutter…

June 1, 2009

I hope you’re all enjoying the glorious weather – it’s been very beautiful here and it felt particularly apt after Friday’s colour blog. Below is a picture of the sky where I live, taken at the weekend with my camera by my friend Andy (I took some of the sky too but his was better :)) – what a magnificent blue…

blue sky

This week I want to talk about de-cluttering. If you want to simplify your life and trim back any excess life-baggage to reveal the gem beneath – that gem, of course, being your authentic self – then there’s no better place to start than a thorough clear-out in every area of your life – physically, mentally, emotionally and psychologically. There’s no particular order to this process – and as we’ll see, there’s also some overlap between the different areas – but if you’re looking for a way to kick-start your life change, then a complete ‘spring clean’ of your physical environment is a great place to begin. This one will really get your energy flowing and give you a sense of achievement with a tangible result, which is the perfect starting-block for all the other areas of your life.

Here’s some ideas to get you going:

Spring clean your entire house. I like to do mine one room at a time, working my way round the room methodically. Clean behind and underneath everything and include windows, paintwork, lampshades, curtains/blinds, plus every piece of furniture and all those ornaments. Try moving things around for a new look, or even better, get rid of any unwanted item – less clutter, less cleaning next time around. 😉

And whilst we’re on the subject of getting rid of stuff – sort through any cupboards, drawers, bookshelves and any other storage place you have. Go through every item of clothing, every book, CD and DVD, every knick-knack, picture, kitchen item – you get the gist.  Be firm with yourself – I’ve found a great way of checking if an item is worth keeping or not is the clutter test (originally in the book Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui: Space Clearing Can Change Your Life by Karen Kingston):  If you are unsure about an item, ask yourself these three simple questions: Does it lift my energy when I think about it or look at it? Do I absolutely love it? Is it genuinely useful? If you can’t answer ‘yes’ to any of these questions, get rid of it.

When you’ve done this, recycle what you can. People often ask me why I don’t sell stuff on e-bay, but for me, giving stuff away is my form of tithing. Tithing is literally giving away ten percent of your income with the faith that the universe is plentiful and ‘what goes around, comes around’. Of course, if your income is very low then you can do this through different means other than direct financial contributions. (For example, other ways I tithe are through giving big tips for services or simply passing on a good vibe by offering heartfelt appreciation for assistance). When I’ve had a big clear-out at home, I pass on all the good stuff we no longer use or need to friends or charity shops; papers, glass etc goes to the specific recycling places; and what’s left goes to the tip. Or you could always try Freecycle…

If you feel energised by your spring clean, and want to really make a fresh start, why not redecorate? I once really caught the redecorating bug – I had only planned to decorate my daughter’s room but was so impressed by the transformation that I became inspired to redecorate the whole house, a task I completed in one month. If you look in the right places, are willing to think laterally and creatively (and don’t forget the tithe factor – and Freecycle :)), you can give your house a whole new look and create yourself a beautiful sanctuary for very little cost. I remember vividly the feeling of satisfaction as I sat back and admired my creative work. Expressing yourself this way gives you a real boost and adds to your enjoyment of your home. (Also, remember the ‘inner geek’ blog? Painting is a great way to begin to de-clutter your mind.)

Finally, if you have a garden or outbuildings, don’t forget to give those a good once-over too.

Tomorrow, we’ll talk about mental de-cluttering.

2 comments

  1. I love having a clean and tidy house and it makes me feel better, but rarely have the time.
    I always feel so relaxed and happy when I have been in the garden, planting and general tidying.


  2. […] Part one discusses ways to de-clutter your physical surroundings – time for a spring clean! […]



Leave a Reply

