h1

Summer Solstice and Spooky Synchronicities… (part two)

June 23, 2009

My second synchronicity

On Saturday night, Lawrence and I stayed with some friends. We left early the next morning and stopped off for breakfast on the way home. The place we ate at was an establishment I used to visit with my daughter when she was a toddler, and looking at the children’s play equipment I felt quite nostalgic and surprisingly emotional about that never-to-be-revisited time in my life.

As I hadn’t slept too well the night before, I decided to have a little nap when I got home. I had a vivid dream that Lawrence, myself and my daughter were in a funhouse, the main feature being a large slide which we were all playing on. When I woke up, Lawrence suggested we drive to a small village nearby to visit the cafe and go for a walk, and as it was such a lovely day, this is what we did. After we’d enjoyed our tea and crumpets, we set off on our walk and headed in the direction of the local park. As we strolled along, Lawrence said to me “Shall we have a go on the slide?” referring to a previous visit when we’d attempted to do this (both of us were way too big for it and got stuck at the top, much to our – and my daughter’s – amusement). “Funny you should say that,” I said. “I had a dream about a slide earlier…” and proceeded to tell him all about it.

Later that evening, the TV was on and I caught the last fifteen minutes of Wife Swap. I don’t normally watch this show (reality TV is banned in my house) but my daughter had been sneakily viewing it whilst I was in the bath, so the TV happened to still be on this particular channel. What caught my attention was the cutest little girl, about the same age Phoebe was when we used to visit the aforementioned café. She really was such a lovely child that I actually started to feel quite broody, and again, a little emotional. And over those few minutes of viewing, the little girl was shown in a playbarn, giggling and gurgling happily as she whizzed down a huge slide, not once, but twice (once with the ‘wife swap’  then later with her real mum at the end of the show).

And I would probably not have thought much more about it, except this morning I woke up, looked out of the window and thought “What on earth is that in my green wheelie bin?” I’d put the bin out the night before ready for emptying, and it seemed that someone had dumped something in there which was certainly not appropriate for green bins – all I could see was a big lump of plastic, poking out from underneath the lid. So I went outside, pulled out the offending item, and was yet again totally gobsmacked when I found this:

synchronicity slide

As you can see, not only is it a child’s slide, it’s a slide which could only be used by a toddler – the same age as the girl in the show and ergo, my daughter when we visited the café. I have no idea how it ended up there – a drunken prank maybe? – but it was such a strange coincidence, I actually phoned Lawrence to ask him if he had anything to do with it, as he was the only person I’d talked to about the slide dream, the nostalgia etc. However, he was as bemused – and stunned – as I was. I still can’t quite get over it – when you think of all the possible items in the world which could have been dumped in that bin, how come it happened to be the one thing which held any significance for me over the previous 24 hours?

Tomorrow I’ll talk more about synchronicities and we’ll look in more depth at what they mean and why they occur. In the meantime, if you have any interesting synchronicity stories yourself, I’d love to hear about them. Please feel free to share in a comment on here or if you prefer, you can e-mail me at innersimplicity@empathicguidance.co.uk.

5 comments

  1. Great synchronicities, both of them!


    • Thanks, Trish 🙂 I’m still quite overwhelmed by them, especially as they occurred in such quick succession.


  2. Did you ever consciously figure out the meaning of the slide or why you were so nostalgic for your daughter at that age? I find that I often don’t know what it was about, but sometimes I realize it was something important that I was processing in order to move on to a “next step” in my life or similar.


    • Hi Amy

      I agree that it’s not always immediately clear what a synchronistic occurrence is trying to say to you – I guess it’s due to the use of symbolism and imagery, similar to how dreams operate. As ‘modern’ humans, we’ve lost touch with that part of ourselves which responded intuitively to symbols and images, so it can involve quite a shift in thinking (or ‘not’ thinking!) to recognise what the message is.

      I think part of the synchronicity directly involved my daughter – she has just turned 13 so consequently our relationship has changed significantly over recent months. Though I am very proud to watch her grown into a fabulous young woman, I have found myself increasingly grieving the loss of her ‘child’ self, particularly as this is the age where peers become more important than parents. The slide symbolism, as well as directly relating to childhood, also accurately portrays the process of rearing your child – it’s quite a journey, moving step by step through all the different stages, and often hard work. And then suddenly one day – whoosh! – you’re over the other side and in the blink of an eye, parenting is no longer your primary role. So I think the symbolism of this is very much as you say – about me preparing to move onto a new stage in my life.

      Thanks for your comments, Amy, and I’m pleased you enjoyed the blog.

      Warmest wishes

      Sharon 🙂


  3. […] out part two tomorrow for the story of the second synchronicity which occurred hot on the heels of this one, on […]



Leave a Reply

