h1

So what is synchronicity?

June 24, 2009

So what is this strange phenomenon ‘synchronicity’ and why does it happen?

Synchronicity is a term which was originally coined by the psychiatrist Carl Jung to describe an acausal coincidence between two unrelated events connected by meaning – a ‘meaningful coincidence’. Jung is famous for his belief that science and spirituality should be integrated, and felt that synchronicity was the perfect challenge to our cultural conditioning to only accept the rational and explicable.

The fact that despite the best efforts of the sceptics, synchronicity is a phenomenon which ultimately maintains its mystery is one of the things I find so intriguing and delightful about it. It demonstrates that there is more to our lives than that which is witnessed by our five senses or explained away by scientific research and that therefore there is perhaps a greater pattern in operation in the universe.

In her book Synchronicity: The Promise of CoincidenceDeike Begg expands on this concept:

The most interesting aspect of all truly synchronistic phenomena is that there appears to be a pre-existing knowledge of things to come, things of which we have at that moment no apparent awareness whatsoever. There seems to be an altogether ‘other’ that knows more than us, can see into the future and also has the ingenious ability to find the quickest route to return us to our destined path.

This ‘other’ which Begg speaks of is what Jung called the ‘collective unconscious’ and which I like to refer to as the ‘universal energy’. We see evidence of this ‘unconscious world’ which connects us all through synchronistic happenings, dreams, telepathy and the like – as Begg says, ‘in that moment we are aware that we are not alone, that there is a whole other world ‘out there’ of which we normally know nothing but which nevertheless reveals itself to us in order to help or warn’.

It would be easy here to get caught up in a lengthy discussion based on Jungian theory, but I feel that’s beyond the scope of this blog and something best reserved for a more in-depth article. So I’m going to cut to the chase and offer my own feelings about synchronicity and what these strange occurrences mean to me, based on contemplation, research and empirical evidence.

I think there’s a part of all of us – the ‘higher self’, if you like (the ‘unconscious’ in psychological terms) – which is tuned into the universal energy (or collective unconscious – see below for an illustration of how this works). Some people are more in touch with their higher self – and therefore the universal energy – than others. Through this higher self, the universal energy gives us ‘nudges’ through such phenomena as synchronicities to encourage us to expand our awareness and open up to the infinite possibilities which exist beyond our conscious mind and our ‘everyday’ self. The majority of people, when experiencing a truly awesome synchronicity, will take a moment to ponder whether there is perhaps more to life than the purely material, and for some, this will trigger a search for ‘something more’, beyond that which is tangible.

collective unconscious

But this nudge into awareness is just the beginning. Once you begin to listen to the voice of your higher self – the voice which I call ‘inner guidance’ – then the synchronicities will begin to appear more and more. These syncs are like destiny’s signposts – I find that they usually occur to either reassure me I’m on the right path, or to show me the way when I’m feeling bewildered about which direction to take. The latter is also usually a nudge to remind me to let go and follow my inner guidance, as the bewilderment is usually caused by ego-generated fears. When I do surrender to the universal energy and listen to the messages coming through my higher self, then the path to follow is pretty clear.

Here’s an example: I first had the idea for my website and blog three years ago (almost to the day). Whilst giving guidance to an internet friend, I suddenly had an intuitive flash – maybe my life purpose was to be an ‘intuitive guide/healer/therapist’, combining my traditional counselling training with my intuitive/empathic nature, and using my writing skills and journalistic background to impart information and work with people online. I was concerned, however, about how feasible this idea was and my fears went into overdrive. Was this a realistic way to consider making a living? Would my family and friends shun or mock me as a ‘weirdo’? Confused and nervous, I picked up a random book from my vast collection and opened it. The book was The Lightworker’s Way by Doreen Virtue and the first page I turned to said this:

She also relayed a message that she had received for me: ‘Don’t worry so much, because everything is going to work out perfectly.’

With that sentence, I blushed. I had been worrying. So much of my world, my thoughts, my beliefs and my relationships were shifting, and I felt that my foundations were very shaky. The more I reopened my long-neglected spiritual interests, the less interested I was in traditional psychology. Yet, I feared my income depended upon my writing about and conducting ‘academically correct’ psychological work. What would I do for a living if I walked away from traditional psychological methods and beliefs?

Another one of my overriding concerns was my relationship with my fiancé, Michael. Although I deeply loved him, I wondered whether my emerging spirituality would pull us apart. I longed to talk to him about my exciting clairvoyant experiences, but I expected him to scoff at or overanalyse my words. Michael had never given me cause to draw these conclusions; I just didn’t feel comfortable discussing my fragile new world with him.

On reading this, I became very emotional (strong feelings and physical reactions – e.g. tears, shaking, goosebumps or  feeling excited and more alive – are usually a powerful indicator that something special has just occurred). What a wonderful sign! The author of those words, Doreen Virtue, is of course extremely successful in her chosen field, and she also states later in the book that her fears about her fiancé were totally unjustified.

Obviously I listened to this message and followed up my original idea which is why I’m writing this today. The key to making the most of the synchronicities in your life is to pursue the path which you feel they point you towards. Sometimes it’s not always as clear cut as the above example, but the feeling that something pretty powerful has occurred and a willingness to be open to what your inner guidance has to tell you and to tentatively follow the trail which the synchronicity has left in its wake can be enough.

For instance, I intuitively feel that the Pete Duel synchronicity I shared with you on Monday relates to my work and consequently my life purpose. The story of this sync covers several decades of my life, from when I was a girl and felt a strange inexplicable connection with Pete, right up to the present day when I wrote the article stating that I felt he may have been an unaware empath. I think I recognised at some level that there was something important going on here before the actual sync occurred, which is why I discussed it with my partner and did some more research into Pete’s life. The wonderful synchronicity confirmed me to that this is a trail of some significance which is definitely worth pursuing – and who knows what exciting opportunities may arise or what discoveries I may make as I explore this path further?

If you’d like to read more about synchronicities, here are some more links which may be of interest:

teapotshappen.wordpress.com

When God Winks: How the Power of Coincidence Guides Your Lifeby SQuire Rushnell

The Three Only Things: Tapping the Power of Dreams, Coincidence, and Imaginationby Robert Moss

The Celestine Prophecyand The Celestine Vision: Living the New Spiritual Awarenessby James Redfield

7 comments

  1. Hello,
    Very interesting post. You might like to take a look at our synchronicity blog. http://www.ofscarabs.blogspot.com
    Rob


  2. Totally fascinated by this – I agree with your theories, based on my own experiences. Though I’m about as far from what one might normally consider or imagine to be the kind of person that would!

    I’ve recently had a dream which relates to my current relationship which is troubling but probably instructional. Rather personal so I wont share it right now– but I think I may need to act on it– and my conscious mind is rebelling.


  3. […] working on a novel – but further experiences and synchronicities (one of which is described here in the synchronicity blog) ultimately lead me to the final step, referred to by Frankl as […]


  4. […] I also have prophetic dreams which I have written about in more detail in my blog entry The Magical World of Dreams. Empaths are often fascinated by dreams and we are natural dream analysts, due to our ability to see the deeper meaning in things and make lateral links using subtle details. This ability also works in the waking world too and helps us to interpret symbols and archtypes, as well as synchronicities. Aware empaths delight in synchronicities and as our understanding of ourselves and our connection to the universe grows, we find that the universal guidance in the form of synchronicities becomes ever more fluent and clear. You can read more about synchronicities in my blog entry So What Is Synchronicity? […]


  5. […] I also have prophetic dreams which you can read about in my blog entry The Magical World of Dreams. Empaths are often fascinated by dreams and we are natural dream analysts, due to our ability to see the deeper meaning in things and make lateral links using subtle details. This ability also works in the waking world too and helps us to interpret signs, symbols and archtypes, as well as synchronicities. Aware empaths delight in synchronicities and as our understanding of ourselves and our connection to the universe grows, we find that the universal guidance which appears in the form of synchronicities becomes ever more fluent and clear. You can read more about synchronicities in my blog entry So What Is Synchronicity? […]


  6. Thank you 🙂



Leave a Reply

