h1

Reiki (part one) – my journey begins

August 6, 2009

chakra_reiki

Regular readers of my blog will be aware of my interest in the concept of energy and how it affects us all. My background is in counselling and for years I was predominantly focussed on the mind and how our thoughts and feelings about our situations impact our lives. However, as I learned more about empathy and metaphysics, I began to take a more holistic approach to our wellbeing. I realised that our thoughts affected our feelings and vice versa, and that these could not be separated from the body, as each of these aspects of our selves impacts the others. And I then realised that what connects all these aspects of our selves – and what connects our selves to everything and everyone else around us – is energy. It’s also through energy that we  experience such phenomena as  empathy, telepathy and synchronicity and it’s through learning about energy systems such as the chakras that we can take positive steps to improve our holistic health and bring harmony and serenity to our mind, body and spirit, individually and collectively.

I previously had no interest in practising any of the more ‘physical’ healing therapies, though I have enjoyed being on the receiving end of them, with some interesting results. Regular treatments from a friend involving Indian head massage and chakra balancing helped me through a particularly difficult time in my life. I also had a Reiki treatment which unblocked some negative energy which had been held for a long time in my left knee – I’d injured this knee whilst involved in a horrible relationship which had an emotionally traumatic event attached to it, and it had given me gip ever since. When the Reiki master laid her hands on my knee, I was overwhelmed with emotion as memories of this traumatic event flooded into my mind, and I vividly recall that this took me completely by surprise, as I had little knowledge then of the mind-body connection and how energy works. However I was aware that from then on, I no longer had any problems with this knee at all.

Despite these positive experiences, and despite my growing awareness of my own ability to tune into the universal energy on an emotional level, it still hadn’t dawned on me that energy work was something I personally could do. My interest was piqued earlier this year, however, when a friend of mine used me as a case study for her reflexology course. My friend has a real gift for this work and I was impressed time and again by her ability to pick up information about my physical and emotional state simply through contact with my feet. Just one example: prior to my website launch, I became quite stressed and noticed that this stress was being released through my body – but only on my right hand side (the masculine side, relating to business endeavours and ambition). I did not share this with Elaine, but after my next treatment she said to me ‘It’s very strange but all your problems seem to be on your right hand side’. (More on reflexology and Elaine’s practice in a future blog.)

I had also begun to notice that the presence of my energy seemed to have a healing quality for some people. A woman I know who was suffering from several stress-related illnesses reported to me how she always felt physically better just through being around me. One day my partner had an upset stomach which made him feel nauseous and reduced his appetite, so I lay my hands on his stomach. I immediately felt heat on the left hand side but not on the right. ‘Is the pain in any particularly place?’ I asked him. ‘Yes, just here on the left’ he said. So I held my hand over the warm spot and, even though I had at this point had no ‘official’ training, I channelled healing energy into that particular area. He called me later to tell me that he’d felt great for the rest of the evening and that night ate a hearty meal.

I also spontaneously used the ‘hands-on’ method for emotional healing with my daughter when she was suffering from pre-exam nerves. Despite being incredibly gifted, she gets very nervous when she has to perform, be it on stage or in an exam, as she sets very high standards for herself. As we sat waiting for her to go into the exam, I decided to channel some calming energy into her. I put my arm around her and placed my hands on both her shoulders, without informing her of what I was doing. After I let go, she suddenly turned round to me and said ‘Actually, I feel much better now, Mum’. When I told her what I’d done later, she said to me ‘I thought you were just giving me a hug!’ (She went on to pass the exam with distinction.)

To cut a long story short, all of this eventually led me to explore Reiki, and the more I read about it, the more I realised that it was the perfect complement to the emotional healing work I already do. So I decided to enrol on a Reiki 1st degree course with York Reiki Plus… of which, more tomorrow 🙂

5 comments

  1. […] than any of the other holistic therapies for a number of reasons. Firstly, as I mentioned in my Reiki blog, I have been on the receiving end of this treatment and found the stress-reducing and harmonising […]


  2. […] I mentioned in my previous Reiki blogs (you can find part one here and part two here), I trained for my 1st degree with York Reiki Plus and would recommend this course […]


  3. […] my Reiki blog, I mentioned my friend Elaine who is a wonderful reflexologist (so good, in fact, that she recently […]


  4. Thank you for sharing your experiences! You have a wonderful blog and it is helping me make a decision about whether or not I’ll enter into the holistic health field myself.


    • Thank you, Kian, I really appreciate your kind comments! I’ve recently started a new blog on a similar theme which you might want to follow, as I won’t be posting on this blog anymore. You can find the new blog at: http://empathy2012andbeyond.wordpress.com/

      Warmest wishes
      Sharon



Leave a Reply

