h1

The Ten Native American Commandments

October 12, 2009

native american

My office at the moment – I’m moving house soon – is  a little cubby hole under the stairs. Despite this space being so small, in the three years I’ve lived here I’ve managed to pack quite a bit into it. As well as my computer and printer, there’s a huge stack of books, a noticeboard with so many pieces of paper, photos, cards and other items of significance pinned on it that it’s in danger of falling off the wall, a wicker hamper full of  old diaries, scrapbooks and videos of my counselling training (eek), numerous stationery items, a box full of all my notes from writing these blogs, a shredder (unused), a file crammed with business information, and an old cushion which my cat Pyewackett used to sit on to be near me whilst I worked and which I’ve felt unable to move even though he died over two years ago.

There’s also a shelf over my desk which, amongst other items, has an ornament of a  girl holding a heart saying ‘I love you’ which was a gift from my daughter, and a silver heart which was a gift from my partner. I also have a number of  items on my wall, including my counselling diploma, my reiki certificate, some amusing postcards – and a poster of the following Native American Commandments, which I’ve found so inspirational and uplifting during the many hours  I’ve spent sitting here  that I  thought I’d share them with you here today. I hope they inspire and uplift you too.


1. Treat the Earth and all that dwell thereon with respect.


2. Remain close to the Great Spirit, in all that you do.

3. Show great respect for your fellow beings.
(and especially respect yourself)


4. Work together for the benefit of all Mankind.


5. Give assistance and kindness wherever needed.

6. Do what you know to be right.
(but be careful not to fall into self-righteousness)


7. Look after the well-being of mind and body.


8. Dedicate a share of your efforts to the greater good.


9. Be truthful and honest at all times.
(and especially be truthful and honest with your self)


10. Take full responsibility for your actions


2 comments

  1. read this long ago
    am a bit challenged today
    what brilliant timing!

    Thank You and Namaste. 🙂


  2. These are commandments to which the entire world should abide right now. It’s a sorry old place – yet here is the cure.



Leave a Reply

