h1

Rage Against The Establishment

December 24, 2009

As regular readers may have noticed, I’m currently taking a sabbatical from my blog writing. The reason for this break is that I’m working on a book which is quite an undertaking to say the least, so rather than scatter my creative energy, I’ve decided to focus the bulk of it on this one particular project. I’m also revamping my website and blog, in conjunction with my web designer, with the aim of relaunching in the New Year, and will be producing a workshop based on the contents of the book once the writing and the new website are completed. I’ll also be taking the Reiki 2nd degree course in February which will enable me to practise Reiki professionally, so as you can see, there’s a busy time ahead for me over the winter months.

However, following the news that the aptly named Rage Against The Machine has beaten the X-Factor offering to the coveted Christmas number one spot, I felt compelled to make some comment. If you haven’t caught any of the huge publicity this story has received, in a nutshell a chap from Essex started a Facebook group encouraging people to buy Killing in The Name (selected, I imagine, for its final refrain of ‘Fuck you, I won’t do what you tell me’) between 13-19 December, rather than the single released by the winner of the X-Factor, as a protest against the X-Factor’s stranglehold on the number one Xmas slot over the last four years. The campaign succeeded and a defeated Simon Cowell had to admit that he had been ‘over confident’ and that perhaps ‘not everyone liked the X-Factor’.

I personally despise the X-Factor as for me it represents much of what has gone wrong with our society. Our world is increasingly being controlled by the corporations and the mega-rich, who seem intent on squeezing every last penny out of us to fill their already vastly overflowing coffers. It’s not just the greed, selfishness and ‘I’m alright, Jack’ attitude which angers me though. It’s the patronising, arrogant and frankly insulting belief they seem to have that the masses are easily placated (i.e. fooled) through manipulation (“let’s tell them that the country’s economic problems are caused by the immigrants and the benefit scroungers, that’ll get ‘em off our backs”) and distraction (with whatever bland mass-produced corporate crap they place in front of us) – and the disgusting and horrific fact that if you don’t fall for their spin, their wealth renders them so ludicrously powerful that any protests are easily silenced, thwarted or simply ignored. (There’ll be much more on this in my forthcoming book, with thoughts and ideas about what you can do to promote change on a personal level).

So this is why I was so delighted that RATM succeeded. Though this was small scale stuff, it proved that People Power cannot be underestimated. All it took was one person to stand up and say ‘I’ve had enough of this’ – and now of course, thanks to the Internet, one person with a big idea can reach millions of people in record time. Wouldn’t it be great if we could do this on a larger scale? If all of us could come together and agree to some kind of action which would really sock it to The Man? For example, what if we all decided to boycott the large stores – or even just the supermarkets – for one month? Or not pay any utility bills for one month – or maybe even one quarter? (March/April would be the best time to refuse to pay, when all the big winter bills are flooding in.) There’d be no way they could prosecute everyone or stop everyone’s supply so they’d probably resort to bully-boy scare tactics to try and get us back under their control, but the fact is we’d be hitting them where it hurts – in their overstuffed bank accounts. And talking of banks – maybe all of us with bank accounts could withdraw all our cash and either keep it under a mattress, or if that’s not possible, put all of it in a Post Office account or building society instead. Let the banks know how much we object to their greed through direct action instead of just moaning about it on internet forums or down the pub.

To slightly paraphrase Mr Lennon – you may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one. Maybe there’s someone out there with far more charisma than me who can translate this kind of action into reality. Maybe by getting these ideas out there  now, they’ll take root in the collective unconscious and one glorious day enough people will realise that greed and selfishness is ruining our world and that at last it’s time to take a stand and make a difference. It’s certainly more likely to happen at some point over the next couple of decades as the younger generations become increasingly disenchanted with the fact that they’re having to pay through the nose for their education, with little chance of a job at the end of it; and the fact that if they do find a job, the cost of living is so inflated that they barely have a few quid left over for themselves – and certainly no chance of ever owning their own property. Perhaps then the masses will finally wake up and realise that they’ve been sold a lie about what brings you happiness and that the current system is actually geared towards bringing economic riches to a few at the expense of the overall well-being of the many. Here’s hoping.

In the meantime, I wish you all a wonderful Yuletide, with many happy hours spent warm and snug with the people you love. And I’ll see you again soon in what I hope will be a much more empathic, compassionate and selfless New Year for us all. Cheers!

5 comments

  1. Hi
    as someone who didn’t watch the X Factor (or Britain or Wherever has got talent…and yes I know I’m in a tiny minority!)…I just have a couple of comments about it. First of all, it was great that RATM got the number 1 – it’s time for an X Factor backlash. 2. Aren’t RATM with Sony as well..so Sony really didn’t lose out at all?
    X factor brought us Susan Boyle – and let’s be honest about it..in a world of Miley Cyruses…she would have got no where without the X factor/Britain’s got talent etc…and that would have been sad.
    The other thing that strikes me is that the people running these companies are probably motivated by fear as much as anything…and maybe they deserve our empathy!
    Have a lovely Christmas and I’m looking forward to hearing about your new book!


  2. Hi Anne, many thanks for your comment 🙂

    Yes, it’s been well documented that ‘the real winners were Sony’. The argument was never with the record company though so I don’t think it’s particularly relevant – it was actually with Simon Cowell and the somewhat smug domination of his X-Factor brand. However, the point I was really making in this blog is about ‘People Power’ and the fact that people can still make a difference, if enough of us are willing to band together and make our voice heard through direct action. Peaceful protest techniques such as marching are evidently not enough any more, as the G20 and Iraq war protests made clear. And I’m certainly not advocating aggression. I think the key is assertive behaviour, such as that stated in my blog. I’ll come back to this in a moment.

    Susan Boyle – whilst that is a heartwarming tale, I’m wondering where she’ll end up in a few years time when the novelty factor has worn off. The whole thing about Susan Boyle was great in that she made us all look at how we judge people by their appearances – but I’m wondering how she will cope in the future when she’s yesterday’s news, the media are no longer flocking to her door and the record contract has been withdrawn. The media/corporations tend to treat people as disposable commodities and my fear is that Susan Boyle is a vulnerable character who will struggle once the spotlight has been switched off. Perhaps I’m underestimating her but I do think that her overnight fame is potentially a mixed blessing for her – her old life has gone forever, but her new life has a lot of superficial aspects to it which won’t support her in the long run. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

    And finally – I agree with your comment about being motivated by fear. I think anyone who behaves in a selfish and greedy fashion is acting out of insecurity. In fact, I think all such behaviour is the hallmark of a person with deep-seated psychological issues and as such, would be deserving of a degree of empathy. However, if those people are unwilling to admit to such issues and continue to make others suffer to fill up the emptiness inside them, then something needs to be done to prevent further damage to others. It’s not dissimilar to parenting a toddler –the only times I ever had to reprimand my daughter as a small child was if I thought that her behaviour could cause harm or disruption to either herself or others. I would make it very clear to her that such behaviour would not be tolerated, and if need be, would remove her from that situation i.e. assertive action. In the same way, I think assertive behaviour – actively demonstrating that we simply will not tolerate the bad and anti-social behaviour of others, however powerful they may be – is the only way to deal with such people. Maybe then they will have pause for thought and consider the consequences of their actions. In which case, they would of course be treated with as much empathy as anyone else dealing with their demons. I won’t hold my breath though 😉

    Warmest wishes to you

    Sharon


  3. Fantastic read and how wonderful if your idea happened.


  4. I thought this was a good article. Our world has a lot of social problems and the people need to organize if they want to take back control of their lives. The big media seem to like the idea of individuals being subservient and not thinking by tjemselves; it must istead be showed that every person has creativity, and most importatly the right to believe, think, act and choose, even if (and specially) outside the box.


  5. […] Interesting to see in today’s Observer that Eric Cantona is advocating an idea which I suggested almost a year ago in my blog entry Rage Against The Establishment. […]



Leave a comment